aaaheavy

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2001
Hi Guys and Gals,

I have a problem with a couple of Western Digital hard drives. I cannot get fdisk to see more that 10,781 MB on either drive. One is NEW (WD-800JB), other is RE-Furb (WD-800AW-R).

I am testing on the bench with bare necessities, no OS involved.

I have used two completly different mobo, CPU, Vid, Mem etc setups (all support Large Drives, with same results)

I have reduced my troubleshoot to the common denominator, the BOOT DISK('s) and a faulty FDISK.EXE program. Although I have tried FDISK.EXE from several different boot disks as well as a fresh copy off of the Partition Magic 8.0 Program

I have only used the two WD hard drives though. (Both Bad?? probably not likely, but possible).

I've been doing this for a few years now and havn't had a problem with fdisk not seeing all of the drive before, so I'm am asking for some input on this.

ps, I have heard of different versions of FDISK.EXE but have not seen anything different in any of them. How do you tell what version of FDISK you have anyway?? :?:

Thanks for any feedback on this subject

PCcashCow

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2002
Do these drive contain any partions on them? Try to delete any partions on the drive then run a zerofill on it. It should break the drives allocations, then fdisk back in. If your looking to setup XP or Server, then just load the bootable disk and your can creat the partion the same way with out installing an OS: This option may work out better beuacse of more hardware support.

bmouring

Distinguished
May 6, 2006
Try the GParted LiveCD, as it will try to scan a drive to account for bad partition tables.

Another option is the TestDisk tool on the ultimate boot cd, which in addition to scanning the disk for broken partition data, is often able to recover any lost data.