System no longer boots after chipset heatsink installation

juicy

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
Hi, I'm still new to this system building thing, so bear with me. I tried replacing that shitty Asus A8N-SLI mobo chipset fan with a Zalman aluminum heatsink, and the following happened afterwards:

The 1st time I turned on the computer, it allowed me to enter BIOS setup after nagging me about computer chip fan not being on (message made sense because the chipset fan's sensor was no longer plugged in). The hard drive boot order was wrong, so I changed the first drive to the correct HD. Then I saved the changes.

The computer then rebooted again, and..... nothing. It stays black forever. No video signal found, the monitor says. I turn off the computer, turn it back on several times. Video signal never found.

There's a few things I can think of which might've gone wrong:

First, I think I might have put a little too much Arctic Silver adhesive between the chipset and the Zalman, not sure. I didn't use any silicon around the chipset either to protect any leads. I also only waited 1 hour or so for the adhesive to cure before turning on my computer. Is this a big deal? The leftover adhesive seemed hard enough by then.

The Zalman gets pretty dang hot, and its dang close to the capacitors of my video card (7900 GT). I think I've read somewhere that someone had problems with extreme heat being right next to their GT?

I'm pretty sure I messed up my mobo somehow, but I'm wondering if maybe it's my video card or something. Any ideas?

1Tanker

Splendid
Apr 28, 2006
Hi, I'm still new to this system building thing, so bear with me. I tried replacing that shitty Asus A8N-SLI mobo chipset fan with a Zalman aluminum heatsink, and the following happened afterwards: