Graphics card for new pc

rabidbunny

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2006
Later on this summer, I will be building my first pc. I am mainly buying all of my components off of newegg and just noticed that they got rid of the 7600gt that I was going to get by eVga. Now, I need to consider a different card since they don't have it listed.
here's what I'm going to build:
Amd +4400 (maybe 4200)
Gigabyte pro-sli
2gb Corsair ram
Antec truepower II 2.0 550watt psu
and the other parts as well.

Now, I am willing to spend around $200 usd for a graphics card and maybe a little bit more, but since this is my first build, I won't need to have something awsome that costs around 300-400 dollars. I can always upgrade later.

I am considering either Nvidia or Ati and I want this card to be able to handle everything out there with decent framerates.

Any sugggestions?

rabidbunny

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2006
Actually, no. I think there was a 7600 evga card that had higher clock and memory speeds and was 256-bit.

I may be wrong, but the card was around $209 on newegg. I don't know if a 7600gt with a 128bit interface would suffice or not? since I want to have a card with a 256bit interface since it can then utilize all 256mb of memory at one time.

I will still check around to see what I may like to get. But suggestions are still appreciated. thanks!

jimytheassassin

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2006
Before I plead my case.. the 7600gt/co/ko is fast enough, a 7900gt will out perform 2 7600's in SLI.. so think about that 7900gt KO $240

128bit vs 256bit refers to how much data you can fit through the pipeline at one time. b=bit B=byte=8 bits I understand your confusion but a 256bit bus will not continuously use a 256MegaByte bank of memory, though it is more efficient than 128 if clock speeds and architecture are equal. Many things tell the tale of a good video card, but why fuss over the little stuff, check out toms vga charts instead.