Your question

1st time build, need help with parts!

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Computer
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
June 25, 2006 6:34:11 AM

Okay, I am a computer noob. I have a little above average understanding of computer hardware. I will be using this computer for gaming, and my budget is at about $1,450 because most things have rebates. I'm not looking for the most fancy, but for good performance without having to sell my soul.
So far I know I'll be getting:
Aspire X-Plorer case
XFX 7900GT
500watt PSU
Samsung floppy
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200rpm sata 3.0GB/s HD
Viewsonic 19" widescreen LCD
Samsung 16xdvd burner with lightscribe

I would like to have dual-core CPU. I have found an interest in Intel pentium D 940 presler because its cheap. I am also not looking for the best sound, so I thought maybe Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS would be okay. The motherboard is where I am having most trouble. I know nothing about them. I also dont know which RAM to get. I know I want 2 gigs(obviously) but I dont know what kind.
*Important: I know nothing about overclocking or BIOS or any of that!!*

Thank you for your time, and your help!
Mike

More about : 1st time build parts

June 25, 2006 7:04:49 AM

Here is what I am getting and have spent some time investigating. http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/Building-pc-Love-input-ftopict189113.html

Motherboard and memory for $210
CPU for $124
PowerSupply for $80
VidCard for $270

That is about $700, shipping and tax it comes to a tad over 800 a ton less if you live outside of a state where they have stores for whatever place you buy from (no taxes)

CPU can easily be overclocked, especially with that motherboard. A good article of the 4.1ghz was posted. You DONT need to go that high. Im going to get an aftermarket fan and maybe go up to 3.4ghz Depends on temperature.