The Logitech Z-5500 Connection

BudgetGamer2006

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2006
Hey guys, i'm new to using these forums but have been visiting Toms for years and years now.

I was hoping to enlist the experience you all here. :)

I'm currently looking to buy some logitech z-5500 speakers, but am at a crossroads afa how to connect the devils. I currently only have a Soundblaster Live! 24-bit sound card which i am using instead of onboard audio. I also have a rather primative onboard codec on my Asus A7V8X-X mobo, which has Sp/dif out (coax i think?).

So my question is...what would be the superior way to connect the speakers out of these 2 options? Can i hook the speakers up with the sp/dif? Would that pass a digital signal to the pod's encoder? Or should I stick with the connections provided by the SB Live! 24-bit (analog connections?).

Thanks for reading that all if you have made it here, hehe

ellover009

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2006
Save yourself a lot of trouble take the sound card out, the hit it with a hammer. Hard part outta the way, you can find an audigy 2zs for around $40-50 on sale or used, and a x-fi music for $80 on sale. it's half of 2006 there should not be any excuses to own a sound blaster live. Good luck

-Dctrprks-

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
Yes if you repent imediatly we'll pretend that you didn't say that you owned a sb live..............Thank you very much

BudgetGamer2006

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2006
So aside from that.. should i use my onboard then and pass a digital signal from the sp/dif to the pod?

If i got a x-fi board, what sort of connection would i get? Digital out?

Thanks.

AC3STAR

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2003