Sign in with
Your question

Help! My 805 crashes 3D Mark 06 @ 3.8Ghz, 1.6V

Last response: in Overclocking
June 26, 2006 10:55:34 PM

I'm hoping somebody can give me some advice as this is my first attempt at overclocking.

My system is as follows:

Asus P5WD2-E Premium
Pentium D 805
2Gb Corsair XMS2 TwinX 800Mhz DDR2
Tagan TG530 U15
Koolance Exos AL with CPU-305 CPU block and VID-NV2-L06 gfx card block.
Leadtek GeForce 7900GT

My problem is that it seems to require unusually high vcore settings to run stable when o/c. In order to get it to stop rebooting while running 2 instances of Prime95 I had to raise the core voltage to just below 1.6V. (This was done in small increments). It then seemed to run it ok for a couple of hours but when I tried 3D Mark 06 it crashed on the CPU test (without rebooting).

I raised the core voltage to 1.6V and it ran through 3D Mark a couple of times ok, but now it keeps crashing on the 2nd CPU test.

I think the vcore is dropping a lot under load. I had the Asus PC Probe running while it was doing Prime95 and when set at 1.6V it would appear to drop as low 1.5V. I'm not entirely sure of the accuracy of this program as it displays the core voltage as high as 1.66V on idle which doesn't tally up with CPU-Z or the normal BIOS readings.

Should I consider raising the vcore a bit more and is it safe to do so? Could there be another issue involved?

My CPU temp goes as high as 60 when under full load, is this OK? Does anybody know at what point the 805 starts to throttle itself back?

Does anyone have any idea what the long term effects of running a CPU at this high voltage could be?

Hope you guys can help :) 

More about : 805 crashes mark 8ghz

June 27, 2006 5:37:08 AM

What do you have your RAM set to?
June 27, 2006 6:35:05 AM

You figured out your own problem I had the same thing on two of those boards , 1.6v is just fine , it is high for 3.8ghz.

Quote: