Sign in with
Your question

New Computer Build - Seeking Opinions ($1200 Limit)

Last response: in Systems
June 27, 2006 9:21:51 PM

Hello,

I'm customizing and building a computer for a friend. AM2 is relatively new on the scene, and just as well, I'm relatively new to AM2. I understand that if you're interested in building a machine now, that it's the way to go. Established motherboard solutions are virtually nonexistant at this point, and I'm still a little shaky with the various RAM speeds (533, 667, 800 etc.).
In the past I've customized and built computers running on Socket A. A lot has happened over the years in the hardware market, so my experience is more or less old fashioned or at least ineffective.
I have been doing a little bit of reading on my own and have come up with a PC build configuration.
My friend's budget cannot pass the $1,200 limit. Thus, I've had to pass over "better" solutions and settle for the "good" ones in various cases.
Here it is:

Motherboard
ASUS M2N-E Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 Ultra MCP ATX
Newegg Link
($96.99)

Processor
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Orleans 2000MHz HT 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2
Newegg Link
($141.99)

Memory
OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Unbuffered DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Newegg Link
($206.49)

Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 SATA NCQ 3Gb/s ST3160812AS 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Newegg Link
($69.99)

Video Card
Open Box: ATI 100-435705 Radeon X1800XT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16
Newegg Link
($289.99)

Power Supply
Antec TruePower 2.0 TRUECONTROL II-550 ATX12V 550W
Newegg Link
($89.99)

Optical Drives
[ 1 ] - Newegg Link ($19.99)
[ 2 ] - Newegg Link ($34.99)

Tower / Case
Antec PlusView II tower - ATX ( PLUSVIEW II )
Amazon Link
($94.81)

Additional
Headphones / Ear buds ($11.99)
Keyboard ($12.99)
Mouse - Optical Trackball ($83.00)
DVI-2-VGA Adapter ($3.75)

TOTAL COST = $1,156.24

Other Comments: