Gigabyte GA-8N-SLI - at wits end

BubbaJon

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2006
Man I've been building systems for over 15 years and have had nothing to come even close to this debacle. I've ordered this MB for use w/805D chip after getting excited about the overclocking article. I got backordered and runaround 6 times before I finally get one in my hands on the board and now I can't even get windows to install.
Haven't even attempted OC yet - just installed the parts and tried to get XP installed.
MSI 7600 nVidia card, 2x1gb OCZ PC6400 ram, Seagate 500gb SATAII Barracuda drive, 300gb Maxtor IDE, Zalman cooler.
Here's what's happening: Soon as Windows XP says "Starting Windows" (after formatting drive) I get the BSOD with some silly damned message that the BIOS isn't ACPI compliant. So I try the Shift F7 trick. Nada.
I swap out the video card for a plane-jane PCI-VGA and it won't even get past initial loading device drivers. Put the 7600 back in. Take out one mem stick. Same old crap. Anyone have any idea of WTF is going on here? It's my understanding this MB works great w/805D. Here are a few incidentals that may have relevance:
Use the Shift F1 to show advanced BIOS options (which BTW is really stupid to hide them to begin with). The BIOS does not show the enable hyperthreading option.
Second, it's my understanding that to get dual channel to work you have to install a stick in alternating slots - that won't let this thing even post. So I put them next to each other I get post. Trying to get an install I take one out but it seems to not care one way or another.
I take out the Sata drive and stick with the IDE drive on it's own controller. Still can't get anywhere past the "Starting Windows".
I hope some of you guys are up for suggestions - I'm tired of screwing with this thing and ready to go back to Athlon country - I need a whup-ass Photoshop machine and this thing has me at the end of patience.
Thanks!
Jon

BubbaJon

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2006