Fake Graphics cards - how to spot?

prupert

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2006
Hi

Newbie here. I'm currently living in China, but am about to return home to the UK. Graphics cards are much cheaper out here, compared to the UK, and I was all set to buy one. Then my students (i'm a teacher) warned me that lots of shops sell fake graphics cards that break after a few months. The boxes they come in look all legit, and the cards look fine to me (they apprently even work well for a few months). So, I was wondering, if there was any way you can see whether a graphics card (I'm mainly talking about ATI here, x1600, X800, x850 etc) is genuine or not?

Fake DVDs are easy to spot, since they come in flimsy cardboard wallets and the english on the back is borderline comical. Graphics card fakes though seem much harder to spo; since you spend more on them, the quality of the fakes seem better.

So, any advice on how I can determine whether the card i am buying is genuine????

thanks

Kholonar

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
I'm not sure you can spot fakes from outside the box. Once you get it, you can try phoning up nVidia/ATi and checking the serial code supplied on the PCB. That's usually a bit late and I'm unsure about whether China has a 27 day return policy. The best advice I can give you is to pick a reputable retailer, check reviews and ask friends where they buy stuff.

If you do happen to find yourself with a fake item I always recommend you phone up the manufacturer of the product and give them details of where you got the fake goods from. At the very least you should be able to stop other people getting fake goods from the store and sometimes (rarely) the companies are thankful and reward you some way.

tmac

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2004
China is famous for its fake copies. See where the local geeks buy there
stuff and see if they are concerned with fakes. If the price is too good
to be true - It is. See what the going rate for the card is.