graphics card wont fit? help plsss

bf2ftwin

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2006
i just got a geforce7950 after my old geforce 6600 started falling behind.

so i got it about aweek ago and so i took out my old card and tried to put in the new card but it wouldnt fit. i called one of my friends and he didnt know what to do so he came over, after trying doing different things he just told me to cut it. so i carefully tried to cut it straight across with a boxcutter (didnt have anything else at the time) but didnt manage to all the way, and it still didnt fit. im kinda afraid i messed it up and maybe voided its warranty... so yea.. any help here?

should i cut the smaller peice too? i decided not to do anything else until i ask someone else. i dont think my friends knows what hes doing.

7950gtxminees0ve.jpg

Kholonar

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
I'm the NOOB here so I'll give him my 2 cents just in case he is telling the truth.

Yes, you have voided the warranty and yes you probably have stuffed up the card. The lesson you should learn from this is do not cut computer equipment, don't try to hotfix components unless you have the required electronic/electrical knowledge.

gomerpile

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2005
good link dude, I read a few of them way to funny, reminds me of the day I got my first computer, I read all about format not quite understanding the whole thing booted up, put in the 5.25 floppy and formatted, ha I said I did it. The computer froze from a stupid run command line 20 and rebooted and WTF, no dos disk please replace the disk and try again. I sure found out what format ment quick.

gudodayn

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2006
Regardless of if you are BSing about cutting the card or whatever it is you are cutting........

First of all, a 7950 x 2 should be shorter than the VGA you have in that picture........

That picture you posted is the older version, the 7900 x 2!!!!!!

But if you cut the card..........it's now officially a 7950 x 2 anyway!!!!!

Pain

Distinguished