Sign in with
Your question

SCSI cant be detected?

Last response: in Storage
July 3, 2006 8:11:11 AM

Im having a problem with my 2 new SCSI HDs, its a 18 gb 15k RPM and a 73gb 10k RPM Compaq HDs. When i boot up, it goes into SCSI boot mode ánd scans for HDs, it then detects a HDD on ID0 and my 15k rpm HD starts to deliver alot of clicking noises.. But it finds my HD, but it doenst assign anything under HD#, it just says: FAILED and im then unable to boot up.

Im running a Compaq 64bit/66mhz adapter. Ive heard about "Terminators" but i dunno if i got any.. I got 2 adapter that i put on the end of my HDs to connect them to power and to the adapter - is that the terminator? :?

Its my first time running with SCSI, and i would appreciate any help..

Edit: This is the adapters i got:

Edit, edit: And this is my SCSI card

More about : scsi detected

July 3, 2006 9:01:01 AM

Quote:
Im having a problem with my 2 new SCSI HDs, its a 18 gb 15k RPM and a 73gb 10k RPM Compaq HDs. When i boot up, it goes into SCSI boot mode ánd scans for HDs, it then detects a HDD on ID0 and my 15k rpm HD starts to deliver alot of clicking noises.. But it finds my HD, but it doenst assign anything under HD#, it just says: FAILED and im then unable to boot up.

Im running a Compaq 64bit/66mhz adapter. Ive heard about "Terminators" but i dunno if i got any.. I got 2 adapter that i put on the end of my HDs to connect them to power and to the adapter - is that the terminator? :?

Its my first time running with SCSI, and i would appreciate any help..

Edit: This is the adapters i got:

Edit, edit: And this is my SCSI card

Each SCSI device in the system must have a unique SCSI ID and the SCSI bus must be properly terminated.

Typically the SCSI controller itself uses SCSI ID 7.

The green adapter in the picture is an 80pin SCA to 68pin SCSI adapter.

The jumpers on the adapter allow you to set the SCSI ID.