Sign in with
Your question

Barton hits the wall at 2.1Ghz

Last response: in Overclocking
July 3, 2006 10:07:12 PM

Sorry to bring this up yet one more time but I have just aquired some old "quality" hardware from ebay to start my ocing experiments. I'm quite new at this but I've already covered a lot of material on how to cool, tweak and test an oc'd rig. So I consider myself to be on the right track for now I guess. So to the point... let me present you the hardware:

-Abit NF7 v2.0 (nForce2 Ultra 400)
-AMD Barton 2600+ (11.5x166)
-Corsair PC3200 (2 matched value dimms)
-Arctic Copper Silent 2 (+included paste)
-Seasonic 350W PSU (max 400W)

I've heard lot's of good thing about the NF7 so I thought it would be a good choice for this particular project. Unfortunately I couldn't get my hands on a barton 2500+ so I had to extract this other one from one of my dad's old computer. Albeit the multiplier is low, it appears to be one locked so no chance of tweaking there. The memory modules are actually new, but were fairly cheap although from a good brand so it will do nicely I think.

OK, now to the question. If you guys were to OC on this hardware, where would you start and how high would you dare to go? Currently all I have been able to push out is a rather low and unstable FSB @ 190 on a 1.875 Vcore. Neither 3DMark nor Prime will run through completly at any point. Any suggestions? :( 

More about : barton hits wall 1ghz

July 3, 2006 11:39:58 PM

Can't speak for the ABIT boards, but on the Asus A7N8X boards I have ( I have a bunch of them) the corsair memory doesn't work well.

With that said, you have a good chance of being able to reach 2300 without much effort by just setting the fsb to 200, and perhaps higher, but overclocking is not a sure thing so your mileage may vary.

You might need to raise the core voltage up a bit, perhaps to 1.75 or 1.8, from [assuming] the default of 1.65 or 1.7.