major heating issues?

heyas

not sure where to turn for a problem like this
but ill try here :) this is a more general issue and not totaly related to my cpu

anyways, 2 months ago i was having major cpu heating problems
with temps of 70c on idle and 90c with load
i was able to fix it by putting some thermal paste on it (which it hardly had any at all)

now, ever since last night
iv been noticing the cpu creeping up there again, but also my gpu aswell
they are both running at 60, say if one goes up to 70c the other will too
my cpu was running around 40-45c on idle and gpu around 50c
my motherboard and hard drive temps seem to be up 10c too
its summer time and all, and it will be hotter, but it really isnt that bad in this room.

now my question is, is there any cause for alarm here? iv been told that a cpu should not run hotter then 50c EVER, gpus are different, but nothing like this on idle
and what can i do to fix this? im a novice when it comes to messing with fans and hardware and stuff

i was using everast to check my temps, but also say in my bios that it climbed from 40c to 55c when i rebooted today :o
16 answers Last reply
More about major heating issues
  1. Can't help you unless you provide your system's specs, specifically your mobo (along with the revision and BIOS version), CPU (down to the core and stepping), video card manufacturer and model, cooling system (stock or aftermarket ?), case setup and room temperature.

It would also help to know which app you are monitoring your temps with...

Also, if you are overclocking, please provide the Vcore and any relevant settings related to your OC.
  2. ASUS P4P800-SE revision 1009
    my cpu is a P4 3ghz, im not sure where im supposed to find the other information you require for it
    video card is an Nvidia 6600GT 256 AGP 8x
    iv had to replace my one case fan and gpu fan many times due to them wearing out. the only sock fan is my cpu one, that im pretty sure hasent caused any trouble so far