New Build, Please Review

DirtDemon

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
Planning on an Intel System, do not want to wait for Conroe but planning on getting Mobo to support it in future.

Primary uses, Web/Graphic Design, DV Editing, DVD Authoring, Battlefield 2.

Already Purchased
Cooler Master Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Case
Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550 ATX12V 550W PS

Planning on Purchasing
Intel Pentium D 940 or 950 - is the 950 (.2 ghz) worth over $100 difference?

Intel 975XBXLKR Mobo

WD Caviar 320GB WD3200KS

Radeon X1800XT 512 MB

Using a DVD burner I already have for now.

I need some suggestions on DDr2 Memory, the Intel Board supports 533/667 I would like 2GB (2x1GB) Was looking at Corsair XMS but didnt see any at those speeds so I am back to square one for memory.

Does anyone see any issues, have any suggestions?

Thanks!

louky

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
I'm a noob when it comes to building computers, but I can predict the future. Everyone will say wait for/go with the Conroe. ;)

DirtDemon

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
Well they can say that... but then they wouldnt be reading my specific and detailed first sentence where I clearly say that I do not want to wait on Conroe.

So does anyone else have some feedback about my hardware choice and my DDR2 Ram Question?

Thanks! :D

shadowduck

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2006
Well they can say that... but then they wouldnt be reading my specific and detailed first sentence where I clearly say that I do not want to wait on Conroe.

So does anyone else have some feedback about my hardware choice and my DDR2 Ram Question?

Thanks! :D

200MHz is not really worth $100. What is your timetable for going to Conroe? If you tell me sooner than later, I would get a D 930 even.

As for the RAM look at Corsair XMS CLS4 DDR2-667 (I think its like PC-5400) for RAM.

DirtDemon

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
The conroe time table would be later, at least 6 - 8 months at the earliest.

I agree on the processor, I can spend the money elsewhere.