Need help picking a case

googlebuddy

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie trying to put together a new computer next month. I'm thinking of trying out a watercooled setup although, since i have never done it before, am a little nervous. Could anyone recommend a good case which can be setup with watercooling and would run close to silent? (I'm not sure if watercooled computers run 100% silent or not)

I have budgeted a reasonable amount for a case so any suggestions would be great.

Thanks!

TSIllusion

Distinguished
May 13, 2006
depending on your ending budget, most people would recommend the THERMALTAKE ARMOR.

this is because it is really roomy, enough for space for watercooling!

qwazzy

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2006
depending on your ending budget, most people would recommend the THERMALTAKE ARMOR.

this is because it is really roomy, enough for space for watercooling!

I would really, really recommened the SUper LANboy by Antec. It is pretty small but runs really quiet with 2 120mm fans. I'm not sure if you'll have enough space for water cooling though. :)

googlebuddy

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
If I'm not planning on overclocking, is watercooling really worth it?

I currently have a case that has way too many fans. It sounds like a jet engine every time it starts up. I want somethine much quieter (which is why im thinking watercooling)

sweetpants

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
When I buy a case the first thing I look for is aluminum, I love the aluminum cases. From experience they tend to stay a bit cooler but at a higher price they may not be for you. I wasn't looking for a case with a power supply or space for watercooling so I picked this one. It works pretty well for me.

For affordable, spacious, reasonable cases might want to try here of course there are other places to buy these cases, may be cheaper too

pengwin

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
ok.

1.) liquid cooling is useless if u dont overclock.