Direction that PSU Air Blows

ryder_22

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2006
I'm looking at two different cases. One is the Antec Neo HE550 550Watt and the second is the Seasonic 600W S12. One large difference seems to be that the Neo blows air outside of the casing, where as the Seasonic blows the air inside the casing-- Downwards towards the CPU. Seasonic claims that this helps the CPU dispel heat. I'm not an engineer or anything, but it would seem common sense that hot air blow away from case, not inside of it. I will be using Zalman fan on CPU, so I imagine that downwards fan air would cool off the massive Zalman unit, but if we get technical and start drawing basic physics diagrams, we will soon see that that only applies to some of that air. The rest of the hot air travels around the case at its own leisure, presumably circulating whatever dust be in the case as well. Anyone have some insight into the matter? I'm looking for something intelligible, not just comments on what a newbie I am.

pengwin

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
I'm looking at two different cases. One is the Antec Neo HE550 550Watt and the second is the Seasonic 600W S12. One large difference seems to be that the Neo blows air outside of the casing, where as the Seasonic blows the air inside the casing-- Downwards towards the CPU. Seasonic claims that this helps the CPU dispel heat. I'm not an engineer or anything, but it would seem common sense that hot air blow away from case, not inside of it. I will be using Zalman fan on CPU, so I imagine that downwards fan air would cool off the massive Zalman unit, but if we get technical and start drawing basic physics diagrams, we will soon see that that only applies to some of that air. The rest of the hot air travels around the case at its own leisure, presumably circulating whatever dust be in the case as well. Anyone have some insight into the matter? I'm looking for something intelligible, not just comments on what a newbie I am.

no,nonononon