Help me with my build for an Overclocked Pentium D 805

Sargon

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2006
This is my first build and I'm nervous about what to buy so I am turning to you guys for help. I am hoping for under 600$ and at max 700$ as my parents are giving me 500$ towards it.

Here are the parts/options but feel free to recommend others:

Processor: Pentium D 805 112$

Motherboard:
ECS C19-A SLI Motherboard 78$
or
Asus P5ND2 SLI 88$
or
Gigabyte GA8N SLI 66$

Graphics Card:
XFX 6800 sli 100$
or
evga 7600GT 135$
or
PNY 7600GT 140$

RAM:
pqi 1GB DDR2 667 RAM 53$
or
pqi Turbo 2x1GB DDR2 667 RAM 117$

Hard Drive:
Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA 3.0 OEM 58$
or
Samsung Spinpoint P 160GB SATA 3.0 60$

The two biggest questions I have are for the PSU and the case. I will only be running one hard drive and one CDRW drive and I can't decide whether the overclocked D 805 will need 450 or 500 watts, especially if I end up going SLI later. And for the case I want something with good cooling but a low price point and I'm leaning towards the centurion. So here is what I have found:

PSU:
Rosewill RV-450 w/2 fans 33A dual 12v 30$
or
Xclio 450W PSU 32A dual 12v 40$
or
Xclio 500W SLI-Certified 32A dual 12V 49$
or
ePower 500W not-SLI certified but 40A dual 12V 48$

Case:
Thermaltake Mambo 1x120mm fan 10$
or
XION Solaris windowed 2x80mm fans 30$
or
Spire Blackfin 80mm, Duct, & 120mm 32$
or
Centurion 5 120mm & Side Duct 50$
or
Antec Sonata II w/450W PSU, 120mm, & Duct 100$

And the build should be ordered by tomorrow night so I'm in a hurry, but having browsed newegg and forums all week I have the right idea. I'm gonna order fans and arctic silver 5 later based on my temps. I just can't decide for myself what parts to buy. Thanks in advance!

Edit: One more question. Newegg seems to have ridiculous shipping rates and I'm not sure how much I will save by ordering all at once. Should I buy from ZipZoomFly or elsewhere?

dougie_boy

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2006