Sign in with
Your question

Measuring the temperature

Last response: in Overclocking
July 9, 2006 9:27:06 PM

I have considerable experience building and upgrading computers, but I'm about to undertake my *first* overclocking project (I read about the 805 ;^)

I've done my homework and I'm confident that I can overclock an 805 without any trouble. But there is one thing that worries me: because I have no experience with this I'm especially worried about heat.

I've never bothered checking the temperature of computers I've built before because they've never been anything flashy, and to tell the truth I don't know how. :^(

Is there a way to check the temperature using BIOS? Or is there a reliable program for Windows that measures CPU (and maybe other parts) temperature?

Thanks for any help. :^)

More about : measuring temperature

July 9, 2006 9:42:18 PM

Quote:
I have considerable experience building and upgrading computers, but I'm about to undertake my *first* overclocking project (I read about the 805 ;^)

I've done my homework and I'm confident that I can overclock an 805 without any trouble. But there is one thing that worries me: because I have no experience with this I'm especially worried about heat.

I've never bothered checking the temperature of computers I've built before because they've never been anything flashy, and to tell the truth I don't know how. :^(

Is there a way to check the temperature using BIOS? Or is there a reliable program for Windows that measures CPU (and maybe other parts) temperature?

Thanks for any help. :^)

Heat will not be an issue until you get to 3.5 or so. Don't worry, be happy.
July 9, 2006 9:48:40 PM

the bios will have pc health status or something along those lines
also the mobo should have its own monitoring sys.
Related resources
July 9, 2006 10:24:35 PM

Quote:

I will be going to *at least* 3.6 Ghz, so heat could be an issue.