Best on-line guide for building a pc???

b14desman

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2006
Hi, suggestions, please, for the best on-line guide (free or otherwise) to building your own pc.
There are quite a few guides and I was just wondering which guide this forum would recommend for a complete novice.
Thanks in anticipation
b14desman

b14desman

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2006
Many thanks for all the replies. I'll start with the Corsair guide and work my way through them. I think the worst bit's going to be deciding which components to choose. I've already spec'd a D 805 build and decided to have a rethink whilst waiting for the predicted price drops at the end of July. Think i'll spec up a D 930 build and perhaps an AMD alternative.
cheers
b14desman

Akifuddin

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2006
Many thanks for all the replies. I'll start with the Corsair guide and work my way through them. I think the worst bit's going to be deciding which components to choose. I've already spec'd a D 805 build and decided to have a rethink whilst waiting for the predicted price drops at the end of July. Think i'll spec up a D 930 build and perhaps an AMD alternative.
cheers
b14desman
Why not a E6300 build? :p

E6300
7600GT or 7900GT
2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2-667 or DDR2-800 OCZ Gold or Corsair XMS RAM
Cheap non-SLi mobo that supports Kentsfield processors
At least Antec SmartPower 2.0 500W Power Supply

It's a nice build I'd say :D The Corsair guide was nice, it felt like building computers and tweaking it is fun! :lol: I'm sure it is, I've never built one before.

b14desman

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2006
Thanks for the replies. The Corsair guide is very good and I've just located one from Gigabyte that I intend to read tonight. Eventually I'll get through them all and mix and match the best bits.
cheers
b14desman

Patfett

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2006