Hard drive killer

G

Hi,

I have my sister's computer sitting here because she has had two hard drives fail on her. I've never done any kind of tinkering before, but since she's kind of written it off (besides, I think she's hoping it's unfixable so that she can buy a new laptop) already, I figured I'd give it a shot. The specs are:

Some generic case (550UL-B mean anything?)
300W Youngyear PSU
Asus P4P800 Deluxe mobo
P4 3.0Ghz CPU
512mb Infineon PC3200 RAM
ATI Radeon 9600 pro (I think, the only ID I could find was "R96-C3G")
Asus CRW-5224A optical
Currently no HDD...

Everything ran fine for about 2 years, then the first drive died. The replacement only lasted 4 months before it went too. Both failures were towards the end of school semesters when the computer was probably on more. The first thing I noticed when I took the side off the case is that there isn't even one case fan - the only airflow is the PSU. From what I've read here, heat is generally the culprit when drives die, so everything suggests that's what happened here. I'm going to order a couple fans and a new drive and then go from there, but I'd like to know if there's anything else I should be looking for - it seems weird that nothing happened for two years.

Thanks!

lcdguy

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
it could be heat but i think it's more the powersupply.

1. 300watts is not enough for that system
2. youngyear is probably one of those generic PSU's, buy an antec, enermax, etc.
3. before buying a new laptop try replaceing the psu with something like a 420-570 watt model from a reputable company, and then try installing a case fan ot 2.

if it dies again then it's time for a new computer.

4745454b

Titan