Sign in with
Your question

Building a system that will best utilize 3ds Max 8...

Last response: in Systems
July 11, 2006 1:06:32 AM

Hey all,
New to the forums here, and looking for some suggestions to build a system that gets the most bang for its buck. This will be my first time building a computer, but I'll be assisted by someone who has built before.

I'm currently studying virtual design, which mostly utilizes 3D Studio Max, and I'll be getting a license for Max 8 this fall.

I give gaming a solid "meh". :)  Occasionally I play CSS and old skool Starcraft (what could be better?). Might get into F.E.A.R. in the fall, but like I said, performance in gaming isn't what I'm concerned about.

I realize the Conroe is coming out soon, and it out-performs current AMD technology, but I'm assuming that AMD will be dropping their prices to the point where it'll be worth getting an AMD system for cheaper rather than paying alot for a really nice Conroe and waiting for 3 months on a waitlist. I want a compy that will perform well for the next 2 years without any major upgrades, since once I graduate I'll be working for Pixar and I'll buy some uber mega system then. :)  Therefore, I'm not worried about Socket 939 going obselete.

Here's what I've got picked out thus far, and I'm hoping the parts are cheaper by the end of the month:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+

Geforce 7900GT

COOLER MASTER Centurion 5

NEC Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW

Western Digital Raptor WD740GD 74GB 10,000 RPM 8MB Cache

RAM is basically the backbone of 3DS. People are always telling me that more is better, so I figured I could get two of these:
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200)
Would it be wiser to go for 2 gigs of DDR2 800 rather than 4 gigs of this stuff? I have no idea..... but like I said, in 3DS, I've always heard that more is better.

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard