How healthy for your system is overclocking?

How healthy is overclocking?

• Not Healthy at ALL!!

Votes: 3 10.7%
  • its not bad but its not good either

Votes: 18 64.3%
  • Very healthy!!!

Votes: 7 25.0%

• Total voters

merid

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
I'm thinking about overclocking my system(when i get a new one) and am just curious as to how long my system will last at that overclocked state?

Frank_M

Distinguished
May 24, 2006
It will be way outdated and replaced before the effects of non-overstraining oc show.
However, the emphasis is on not overstraining your system.

merid

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
ok i'm going to say, will it last 4 years, because i'm a freshman in college and will not get to buy a new one till after i graduate. will it kill over befor that?

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
Anything can go in that four year time but I'd guess it will be either a hard drive or video card. Either are easy to replace at a fraction of the cost of the entire computer.

Even if you don't OC you can't guarantee that the system will not fail in 4 years. Make sure you take care of it, clean dust out regularly (at least once a month), make sure you use a surge protector, don't spill beer on it and don't use it as an extra seat when your friends are in your dorm room.

Make sure you get a case with good ventilation (don't cheap out on this), and a power supply that can handle your components.

Pain

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2004
ok i'm going to say, will it last 4 years, because i'm a freshman in college and will not get to buy a new one till after i graduate. will it kill over befor that?

If you need to make it last that long then you shouldn't mess with it, because it sounds like you can't afford to have a failure, so don't add any stress to the machine. Any decent machine out today will be able to run word, excell and all the apps you need to complete college for years to come. If you want to play games, get a console.

dougie_boy

Distinguished