Sign in with
Your question

i need protection for my new gaming rig

Last response: in Systems
July 12, 2006 1:36:35 AM

alright everyone.....ive pretty much planned my $2600 or so gaming rig and i need some suggestions on how to protect it. im a college student, and as of right now, i dont have a room on campus...but by the time school starts, i most likely will...but i will have a roommate. its pretty hard to trust ppl i dont know...so i was wondering if anyone knows of any special cables or anything i should use to lock up my tower and monitor just in case he forgets to lock the room or something. im not going to be showing it off or anything...at least i dont plan on it, but im just looking for something to make sure my $2600 rig stays safe. obviously password protection is a nobrainer...but i just wasnt sure if anyone could think of/knows of a way to actually lock it to something. any suggestions r highly appreciated!!!!

More about : protection gaming rig

July 12, 2006 1:59:16 AM

Sounds like u want to physically protect it. Meaning, u can't walk
away with it. Is that right?
July 12, 2006 2:13:38 AM

exactly....i found this if i get one for my monitor and tower....it should be ok...right??
Related resources
July 12, 2006 2:40:04 AM

Living in a dorm nothing is yours. Protection is only as good as the weakest link.

Computer hardware [especially high end] is a top target. A little tiny cable on it will only defeat the amateur and he'll likely break it anyway in frustration of not being able to steal it.

Thieves will steal anything that isn't bolted down just because they can. I went to a christian college and it's no different. I had a 2 yr old cheap electric razor stolen, amoung countless other worthless things... food tops among the most commonly stolen.

Now if you're in a girl dorm that doesn't allow men visitors a little cable like this would probably be all you'd need.