Major Issues After Installing new Mobo/Vid card

Sarod

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2006
Hello all, well I performed my first upgrade on the first computer I built and am facing some wierd problems. I upgrade to an Asus A8N SLI and a XFX 7900Gt Xtreme. After reformatting and installing windows im experience wierd problems:

- Web pages wont load completely ie emoticons wont load or small pics. general slow loading. Other computers on the same connection are fine.

- Freezes playing Farcry and FEAR. In FEAR I get an infinite loop sort of freeze.

- * When i download things i can extract without getting an error. THe same file wll download/extract fine on another comp.

I have been told that it may be memory problems in bios settings. Im new to this still so not quite sure where to start. I set CAS and timings (2-3-3-6) in mobo but not sure on more advanced settings. All updates have been performed

Thank you for reading. Any ideas are appreciated.

Specs
AMD 3200 939
A8N SLI
OCZ Performance 5x512 (pc3200)
XFX 7900GT Xtreme
SoundBlaster Audigy Value

wahooman63

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2006
If you are new to this why change any BIOS settings??? Especiall on the RAM.

My advice....set everything to default setting or automaitc setting and see what happens.

4745454b

Titan
Did you install a new build of windows? I would try downloading the chipset drivers again, this time from the other guys. If you downloaded them the first time from Asus, try Nvidia this time.

cranbers

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2006