Cuora

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2005
I found Geekwoman's article about "Games Women Can Enjoy" most interesting, however, it seemed to be directed more to teenage girls than actual women. As a female gamer, educated woman, I am generally drawn to RPG games with my first one being the original EverQuest which I started playing about 5 years ago. I still play EQ Live as it is now called since EQ2 came out and I play that also. One thing I took issue with was the generalized statement that "Many of the avid players of the older games Everquest 2 and Dark Age of Camelot are migrating to WoW."
First off, Everquest 2 is NOT an older game, EQ2 was launched November 8, 2004 (WOW was launched November 23, 2004 according to what I found in their press release). This makes EQ2 older by 15 days, hardly what I would call an "older " game. I know lots of people, both male and female who like to "try" different games for a period, but usually end up coming back to whatever game they have the most time into. As far as MMORPG's, Everquest is definitely one if not the most challenging one out there and there are times I have wanted to shake Sony for the timesinks they put in, but the challenges are what keeps me coming back and why I have stayed. I play both EQ and EQ2 and enjoy both games. I am a casual player, not a hardcore grinder. I have heard that WOW is easier than EQ or EQ2 and if that helps bring more ladies into the games, I think that is great. :) In the end, I think both younger women and older women can be great gamers, they need to know it is not a "man's world" and not feel like gaming is something that affects their feminity. As the author of the article pointed out, there are many games that are appealing to women, and sometimes not so cutesey games either. My husband loves the fact that I like to play online games as well as single player games. Most of his friends wish their wives did. It's mainly a matter of finding out what interests them and diving in head first!