64bit939

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2006
Alright so I have done it once again, I upgraded something that is forcing me to upgrade something else. I swear I never mean to do that, but it always helps justifying it to the wife. so here is my issue. I just got at dell 24" lcd widescreen monitor (by the way is simply amazing) but something I didnt think about was the fact that 1920x1200 is a high res for a game, just maybe my card cant handle that kinda res. well I am thinking about it now, I tried Toca 3 and it works perfectly, tried COD2 and it is completly unplayable. So what are my options, the recomended res for that monitor is 1920x1200 so it would be best for the monitor if I didnt go lower then that right? what video card should I get to handle cod2 and fear, hl2 at 1920x1200 with no issues? or am I talking crazy and I can just lower the res to a lower wide screen res? I have a x850xt right now.

Thanks everyone, any information on this would be great as I am new to the lcd world and new to the widescreen world

64bit939

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2006
that was one of my questions, I thought Lcd's dont perform good at all when they arent in there correct res. I was afraid to drop it down to something else as I know the monitor wants 1920x1200, so no damage and or quality to the monitor if I drop it down?

Cody_7

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2004
Well, the noticeable problem when lowing your res with an LCD in a game is the edges of most objects appear very jagged. That's my experience at least. With my 19" LCD monitor, it bothers me to run in any resolution lower than my max, so i try and run the highest if possible.