Now = Ti 4200, upgrade to ??? ($100)

dogus1

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2002
I presently run at GeForce Ti 4200 128MB - I am no expert, but I get the impression that this card is held in reverence, though it is outclassed these days.

I am looking to upgrade to a card that operates on DX9, can play BF2 (which I can't now), but I don't want to go too cheap - I constantly see bad things about low-end GeForce 5 and 6 series cards. I'm weary. I'm also confused by all the little suffixes at the end of cards (LE, TC, GTO, etc.), which can seem to indicate an otherwise good model series has been altered to piece of crap. So, if you can recommend a precise model and manufacturer, that'd be cool.

I have no need to go too high - pref $75 to $100, maybe a bit over, and something that will deliver significant increase over my present setup. I must stick with AGP, my rig is older. My power supply is 430 Antec. I know some of these cards gobble that stuff up...

I was thinking GeForce 6600 or ATI 9800 -- or, whatever. You tell me. I can't tell right from left after looking at this stuff for 3 hours...

Thanks![/b]

pauldh

Illustrious
A 6600GT would beat out a 9800 pro in just about everything. A 6600 would be behind a 9800 pro. Anyway, here you can see just how well the X800XL does in BF2 compared to a 6600GT, which basically costs the same in AGP as that X800XL I linked to above. Cranking the resolution and details, and the X800XL will offer a 100% boost over a 6600GT. Just make sure you have a minimum of 1GB RAM for BF2.

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2466&p=3

nottheking

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2006
Well, when the Ti 4200 came out in 2002, it indeed was reknowned for providing good performance like the rest of the GeForce 4 Ti cards, but at $250US, at a price people could swallow. shame that nVidia had its rear end handed to it a few months later by Ati's Radeon 9700.