cowcrusher

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2006
I'm new to water cooling and i would like to get it for my custom pc im building, it will have

-Core 2 Duo
-eVGA 7900gt
-ASUS P5WD2-E
-CORSAIR XMS2 1GB

i was wondering which kit would be best, or if not a kit which parts would be best (ive heard buying the parts seperate gives you more bang for your buck).

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006
Most definitely...

While you will see people who use kits like Bigwater and Evercool, once you've been into watercooling for some time you will find out that your own custom (DIY - Do-It-Youtrself) kits will, ultimately, be your preference. You can mix and match components to suit your cooling needs from CPU, GPU and Northbridge to even voltage regulaters and mosfets. The nice thing, too, is that even though your computer may undergo many upgrades in it's lifetime, most of your watercooling components will still be useable (with the exception of the occassional change due to socket upgrades or GPU configurations).

There are many companies with excellent reputations - whether you go passive cooling (like with Zalman) or with companies like Danger Den or Swiftech.

I use a combinations of products chiefly from Danger Den (excellent GPU and Chipset waterblocks and superior radiators), Swiftech (MCP 655 pump is powerful and oh-so silent and their Swiftech Storm CPU waterblock), Tygon Tubing (1/2 ID 11/16) and assorted custom modified components which I did myself (temp displays, reservoirs, etc.) I have 2 computers - one uses a peltier waterblock (from Swiftech) to cool the CPU and the other one uses the Swiftech Storm CPU waterblock.

You can even acquire some of these parts (at cheaper costs) from places like eBay or through contacts. Kits from places like Swiftech or Danger Den (based ENTIRELY on their products) are nice and very effective but they are usually pretty expensive (for an initial investment).

Performance-PC's - http://www.performance-pcs.com/