Sign in with
Your question

Wiring the Case

Last response: in Components
July 19, 2006 4:59:34 AM

I am a first time builder that would appreciate any and all tips about wiring my Liam Li PC-61 case. The directions are not that clear to me. So far the only thing that I did was to bolt in the power supply and install the motherboard grill. Do I plug the fan cables into the motherboard or directly into the power supply? I never thought of this before, but does this case have a speaker?

Thanks in advance

More about : wiring case

July 19, 2006 6:11:54 AM

dont think the case has a speaker. the mobo maunal should have instructions on how to place the little wires onto ur to mobo to make the front USB ports work.

the fans should connect to the mobo if possible. 3 pin connector. BUT the connector needs to have the Red, back, and yellow cables or it wont be powered. like one of my fans required a 4 pin molex for power and has a 3 pin for RPM control.
July 19, 2006 9:29:20 AM

If there is no speaker in the case, how will I be able to hear the diaganostic beeps if needed? Also, is there a way that I can hook up a speaker?

Thanks
Related resources
July 19, 2006 11:11:38 AM

There is a little piezoelectric device in that case that sits under the hard drive cage. Wires are all there. Instructions aren't included with that, or any other case. They're in your Motherboard manual. Note also that polarity usually isn't very well documented so plan on reversing your power and HD plugs to get the lights to illuminate when they should.
July 19, 2006 11:30:51 AM

Lian Li documentation is terrible - I had to wing it with my PC-60 plus II.
July 19, 2006 11:59:18 AM

If this is your first build I suggest you read your motherboard manual cover to cover, it should explain how to connect everything to your motherboard.

Most of the time will need to plug your heatsink fan into the motherboard or the system will sense 0 RPMS and stop.

Other than that plug them in any way you want.