Sign in with
Your question

Upgrate suggestion Needed!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 20, 2006 1:48:03 AM

I want to upgrate my Geforce 4 MX(64MB) Video card in order to enjoy HDTVs.
But I am not a hardware expert , I really need some suggestions.
Here is my computer compoments:
P41.8ghz(Willamatte),kingmax256.Asus P4PE(only support AGP4x).
July 20, 2006 2:11:32 AM

get a gig of ram.

do it.
July 20, 2006 2:13:43 AM

Quote:
I want to upgrate my Geforce 4 MX(64MB) Video card in order to enjoy HDTVs.
But I am not a hardware expert , I really need some suggestions.
Here is my computer compoments:
P41.8ghz(Willamatte),kingmax256.Asus P4PE(only support AGP4x).

well, if you want to replace both your video card, AND get an HDTV Tuner, I'm not quite certain. To my knowledge, only one video card line actually incorporates full-fledged TV tuner capabilities... The ATi "All-In-Wonder." However, I don't know if it's an HDTV tuner, or just a standard-def DTV tuner.

The best AGP AIWs that I know of wold be the X800XT, though that's a little pricy, at just under $300US. For a cheaper solution, there's the "All-In-Wonder 2006" which has an X1300, a weak card, but somewhat sufficient for some gaming.

Or, do you mean you simply want a card that can output to an HDTV? that's a much easier issue; the VIVO port found on most high-end and mid-range video cards can support an adapter out to component, and some HDTVs support DVI-I jacks as well. What card you'd want would depend on what uses for 3D rendering you have; even cheap cards, with the right ports, would support that form of output.
Related resources
July 21, 2006 1:58:33 PM

Thanks Nottheking.
Maybe i don't say my requests quite clearly.I want to upgrate my computer in order to enjoy HDTV ,because the current compoments can't play HDTV(720p or 1080i) although with a cpu usage of 100%.