How to overclock a P940 D in a ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe Mobo

VolvoBrad007

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2006
Hey, I just got ahold of some new computer parts, and I want to overclock, as to get the 'most' out of my system. I am fairly new to overclocking, but not new to computers. (i.e.: I know what a FSB is, i know how to set the different voltages, but I don't have a full grasp on how to put all the timings, and frequencies and such together correctly, and have read that using the ASUS AI Booster isn't a good solution, BIOS overclocking is, hence why I'm here:)) I have been doing much reading, but need some help. Here's what we got:

-ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe Mobo
-Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 RAM
-Pentium D 940 775LGA
-ASUS EN7900GT TOP Graphics Card
-Silverstone Zeus 650W Powersupply

I am also fairly new to the AMI BIOS, so any help is much appreciated! Thanks in advance :)

(I also have a pair of TWIN2X2048-5400C4, but ordered the TWIN2X2048-6400C4. * to have more headroom for overclocking? *) or at least that's what the ram people at corsair say.

VolvoBrad007

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2006
The timing for the RAM are 4-4-4-12 BTW, forgot to include that. Probably some other stuff you guys will want to know, so just let me know and I'll post it right up! :) Thanks again

VolvoBrad007

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2006
For a start go the bios and increase the FSB value, by ten increments and boot and test for stability.

I shall go to the BIOS and increase the FSB value, and not change anything else and let you know where I top out.

Thank you so much for helping me out!!! :)

-Brad

VolvoBrad007

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2006
Click expand and zoom in..... P5ND2 SLI (SE).....

4.4.... will make to 5.0 soon...... have fun ocing

That's a phat overclock, is that stable? and at what temperatures are you getting? what's your cooling?

So far i've got the FSB up to 225.0MHz and my multiplier is x16.0 and the Bus Speed is 900.0 MHz for an overclock of 3600.00 MHz. Stable.