Input Requested for Ground-up Build

Btrice

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2005
Hello All,

I could use a bit of help designing my next computer. This is a ground up system as my current ungracefully aging laptop (Dell 5100, P4 2.4 Mobile) is probably going to jump the shark any day now. I am sick of laptops and the only reason I had one was my job moved me around quite a bit, though now I seem to be in a more permanent location (knock on wood).

I have had a lot of experience building systems (back to 486 days) so difficulty of setup is not an issue.

I want to get a good price/performance ratio but I want to steer clear of super-high end and basement budget systems.

I don't do much gaming unless I find an RTS title that is interesting, and I absolutely hate FPS games. Mostly I use the setup for the net, composing video and original music, and web/graphic design (my hobby). Plus it would be nice to be able to possibly do some work related stuff on the machine which is heavy physics based simulations.

Here is what I have wish-listed so far (minus inputs and monitor which I can figure out on my own). Things in italics are pretty much set in stone unless somebody could give me a solid reason why they are no good for my system:

ASPIRE MX-PLEASURE-BK Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case Retail Model #: MX-PLEASURE-BK $109.99
ABIT AW8D Socket T $169.99
XFX PV-T73G-UDE3 Geforce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 $179.99
Crucial Technology Ballistix 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) $159.99
2 Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 SATA NCQ 3Gb/s 160GB $62.99ea
NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE/ATAPI Model ND-3550A $30.99

Currently this system with the inputs/monitor but without a CPU choice is runnning about $950. I'd like to go no higher than $1200-$1300 if possible.

Here are my big considerations to run by you fine folks (complete with what I think may be the pros and cons):

1) There is no processor in that list because I am having trouble deciding what to get: