antichrysler

Distinguished
May 29, 2006
Alright,
So here's the story. I'm a poor student and I am looking at upgrading my PC. I have a budget of $500-$600 CAD to work with.

I am only planning on purchasing the following components: motherboard, CPU, RAM.

I have decided I will buy:
Athlon 64 x2 3800+ (AM2)
Asus M2N-E

Anyways my problem is I don't know which RAM to buy. How much of a difference does PC2 4200, 8000, or any of the others in the middle make on performance?

choirbass

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2005
the answers you could get are more of a mixed bag in all honesty... but reading this article on THG should help you make your decision much easier (primarily when taking cost into consideration):

http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/23/amd_reinvents_itself/

antichrysler

Distinguished
May 29, 2006
Ahh thanks for the link. There is just one last thing I was thinking of. I know DDR2 is relatively new. Does anyone know or have any speculation on when DDR2 will be replaced with DDR3 or perhaps if newer CPU's will require faster DDR2?

I guess to clarify my question a bit, I know in the Socket A world DDR400 was available when DDR333 was. However DDR400 would allow you to take full advantage of an Athlon XP 3200+ (due to the bus speeds). In terms of "future proofing" my purchase is it advisable to go for DDR2 800?

Vinny

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2004
You can't really be sure... AM3 is supposed to use DDR3 and I read somewhere Samsung has already sent out prototype DDR3 memory to some manufacturers.

Here's my advice: don't worry about it. Get the best that you can afford now... technology changes too fast for most of us budget builders to keep up with anyway. A X2 and DDR2 800 will serve you well for a few years easily.:)

1Tanker

Splendid
Apr 28, 2006
Alright,
So here's the story. I'm a poor student and I am looking at upgrading my PC. I have a budget of $500-$600 CAD to work with.

I am only planning on purchasing the following components: motherboard, CPU, RAM.