Can I use Dell E510 case for upgrade?

tootall123

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
Hello,

I am kinda new to all of this, but I know enough to build my own computer. I am wondering if I could use a Dell E510 case with the power supply that comes with it, to build my own? Does the E510 only allow you to put in motherboards and drives that come from Dell? Or could I put 3rd party parts in it?

I am looking at building something similar to the $500 gaming machine that is here http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/10/14/the_/. Will at least the motherboard and video cards from the gaming machine in the link fit into the Dell E510?

Thanks.

sturm

Splendid
I wouldnt trust the power supply to power your new rig. Dell power supplies are wired different as far as I know. So if you plug them in to a non dell board your fry it. Plus the case probably wont have the correct mounting holes for the new board.
Dell, HP, Compaq, etc all use proprietory parts. They dont work well other that in their own systems.
Do your self a favor and get a new case. Use the old computer for downloads or file server.

yakyb

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2006
i second that, I would never skimp out on the PSU (afterall it is connected to every one of your parts) do yourself a favour and buy a decent ~£60 PSU Seasonic are good. as far as a case goes get something Plain dont worry bout extras (i.e. ignore cases that come with psu) probably gonna use a TT VB1000BNS for my next build @ £47 its a very good buy (Overclockers). on the other hand if you are on a shoestring then i would say that the DELL probably will fit your motherboard but you would be best off in a new one (do you really want your mates to think you are using a Dell still rather than gawp at your Self build?)

mesarectifier

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006