Sign in with
Your question

I could really use your help - 1st build ever, Conroe

Last response: in Systems
July 24, 2006 9:20:32 PM

Hi,

I’ve been waiting for months now for Conroe to come out so I can finally build my first high-end PC for an average price tag. Six months ago you would have paid double the price for half the performance. It’s really an exciting time and I hope everyone is just as AMPED as I am.

I could REALLY use your help. I’m nervous about pulling the trigger and purchasing all these components in one go. The last thing I need is to have compatibility issues/bottlenecks that could have been avoided in advance by doing my homework. This is my first build ever so it’s quite a big step. Any advice you may have will be greatly appreciated. I love the forums, and you guys are great – thanks in advance for all your help.

One thing to note: If you agree or disagree with a specific component or make another recommendation, please state the reason clearly. Helps me and the other newbies understand why.

Also, constraints:
-budget of around $1700
-would like to ensure a future upgrade path to Kentsfield and DX10 compatible video cards.
-I might want to overclock a year from now when I figure out how. Thanks!

The build:

Case - Antec Performance One P180B Mid-Tower ($113)
http://stores.tomshardware.com/search_getprod.php/maste...

PSU - Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550 550W ($98 )

Mobo – Asus P5W DH Deluxe ($242)

Processor – Conroe E6600 ($363)

RAM - OCZ Platinum Revision 2, 2GB, DDR2 800 - Retail ($195)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1682...

Video Card - MSI RX1900XT-VT2D512E Radeon X1900XT 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail ($287)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

Hard Drive – Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS 320GB ($95 at NewEgg)

DVD ROM - Lite-On SHM-165H6S Dual Layer DVD±RW Writer ($41)

Monitor - ViewSonic VX922 19" LCD Monitor ($263)