Will I have to get new power supply for X-Fire?

redraider_gamer

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2006
Have 600 watt SLI Certified Ultra PS, want to get conroe and ATI X fire, will the PS work or do I need a new one?

Yeah, I'm a newb on this stuff. Go ahead and let me have it, but give me a good answer too...

Thanks

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
It should be fine but how do we know unless you tell us all of your components, for instance: the x1900xtx pulls about twice the power of the x800xl and an overclocked D805 can pull up to 180w by itself.

Full list of every single item that gets power from the psu, also the brand of the psu.

Slava

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2002
The wattage of the PSU depends on what else you have in your PC. The more components you have - the more power you need. Some full tower cases have up to 10 (ten) 5.25" expansion bays. You could have, I don't know, 5 hard drives, 3 optical drives, other drives, backup unit, up to 5-6 expansion cards, 4-5 fans an enthusiast CPU cooler, whatever. You could have dual CPUs and what not....

Regardless of that, I would suggest that you sell your 600Wt on ebay or craig's list or something and get yourself a 1000Wt. The way things are changing, power requirements are likely to continue to grow. With a big power supply you will be set for a long time; and should the need arise to add a couple of new hard drives or expansion cards or more case fans or whatever, you will not have to worry about power. Here's what I mean:

Most people upgrade their machines from time to time. However, some things stay the same for a long, long time. If you have a good PC case, for example, and it looks good enough for you, chances are you will not replace it for many years even if you replace everything inside it. I have had my Acer Open server tower for over six years now. The same is true about power supplies and (to a lesser extent) motherboards.