Sign in with
Your question

building comp for CAD/CAM and computational purposes

Last response: in Systems
July 25, 2006 7:51:48 AM

im building a computer that will be dedicated to CAD and other computation intensive programs (computational fluid dynamics). i was wondering what type of setup i should be looking at?

the fad for OCign the pentiumD805 seems both popular and inexpensive. i was wondering if i could build two such computers and allow them to work in parallel (similar to having multiple processors within a server). is this possible? how would i go about doing this if not, what would you recommend?

tia,
Gary
July 25, 2006 9:20:17 AM

Hi Gary,

I am no expert in this but I am still very interested. I am in engineering myself.

If you want to build a cluster, you probably want to lean down all your slave PC's. Your slave PC's are going to need the CPU, tons of RAM depending on your simulation, chucks of hard drive space (don't know how much is going to be stored on the distributed machines)... and that's about it. You don't even need monitors/ keyboards/ etc, just get a switch or something.
For your master PC, you definitely want a huge HDD cause your simulations is going to flood you in seconds (you do CFD, you know what I mean). Depending on your CAE demands, you might want a very powerful engineering video card, like a FX quadro type, for your master computer.

About the choice of hardware, the whole point about the 805 is that you can overclock them like crazy. That comes with more complex cooling rig and a lot of settings you need to play with. If you are doing CFD, running full load for 360 days of the year, 805 might not be your most stable choice (beucase of the heat and stuff). You can get some cheap Pentium D 950, 960 CPU after July 27th. At the same time save money on the mobo and get some cheap cases. You don't need to waste money on performance in one chip, just get something with best performance per $$$ and then a lot of them.