PSU for TT Armor?

TheeZy

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2006
Hi, I plan on building a new budget gaming system to use at home and at the many LAN parties I host and visit.

My current choice of case is the Thermaltake Armor ATX full tower. I know it's heavy but I don't mind carrying it around, and I like the size and sleek cool look.

Now my question is what power supply to get for this case. Here are some considerations:

1) I've read many reviews on the case and most say they had problems with getting the power supply installed due to size of something. I need a power supply that will fit.

2) The Armor case has four fans, I think. The power supply needs to be suitable for that. I'm not really technically proficient so I'd rather not have to try to manually mess with anything.

3) Im going with a AMD X2 3800+, 2gb DDR, Geforce 7900GT, 1 hard drive, etc, so I doubt I need a heavy duty power supply. I'd prefer to stay on the safe side and over buy than under buy though.

4) My computer is on a fairly low budget so I'd like to spend less than $100 dollars if possible. Reliability is probably the most important thing for me.

Please don't tell me to get Conroe, this is just a design and I'll decide whether to go Conroe or not after it's released and the dust has settled.

Thanks!

TheeZy

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2006
Would it be worth getting a modular power supply since my case has a window? Would it look better or anything?

I like the Neo but I don't want to spend that much. How well will I do with a $70 SmartPower?

pengwin

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
Would it be worth getting a modular power supply since my case has a window? Would it look better or anything?

I like the Neo but I don't want to spend that much. How well will I do with a $70 SmartPower?

Get the TP 550w its 10 dollars more than the smart power and much better.

As chuck said BFG one is good and the TT has room for u to hide ur cables.

czar1020

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2006