Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade Advice Needed

Last response: in Systems
July 26, 2006 2:25:14 AM

I'm thinking of upgrading my current 3-4 year old system, the main reason being in order to handle the latest games. I've never done anything like this before a would call myself somewhat inexperienced so require the help of forum members for this. Please excuse my ingnorance.

Current System:

Dell Computer
Pentium 4 2.53 GHz
512MB RAM
Geforce 4 Ti4200

I'm definately going to upgrade the motherboard, RAM and the graphics card. I was also thinking about the sound and processor but my money is limited and I don't want to be spending large amounts. I've never even thought about buying a mobo before so any suggestions are welcome. I'm thinking about getting a Radeon X1800 XT 256mb for the graphics. Not sure about what I should do with the RAM. If you want me to be more specific with the system specs I can give you a detailed description later.

More about : upgrade advice needed

July 26, 2006 3:09:09 AM

Quote:
I'm thinking of upgrading my current 3-4 year old system, the main reason being in order to handle the latest games. I've never done anything like this before a would call myself somewhat inexperienced so require the help of forum members for this. Please excuse my ingnorance.

Current System:

Dell Computer
Pentium 4 2.53 GHz
512MB RAM
Geforce 4 Ti4200

I'm definately going to upgrade the motherboard, RAM and the graphics card. I was also thinking about the sound and processor but my money is limited and I don't want to be spending large amounts. I've never even thought about buying a mobo before so any suggestions are welcome. I'm thinking about getting a Radeon X1800 XT 256mb for the graphics. Not sure about what I should do with the RAM. If you want me to be more specific with the system specs I can give you a detailed description later.