What does a sound card do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shbullets

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2006
Hi guys, what does a sound card do? Does it really enhance your gaming performance, and quality? What are the benefits of it? Etc. etc. Yes i am a newbie @_@ :roll:

Doughbuy

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2006
Another important thing about sound cards, especially the higher models, will help take a load off of the CPU. The sound card would be dedicated to sound processing, and with the X-FI Fatality and up models with 64mb of X-ram, it would be able to process even more sound effects. I think the new upcoming game Crysis is going to take advantage of that, especially since they claim there are going to be 20-30 effects PER GUNSHOT... shrug. I however, don't really see the point of laying down 200+ dollars unless your a true audiophile and want to be able to hear a cricket chirping behind you while walking through grass in a game... shrug.

Also, if you don't have good speakers, no need for a sound card, your just wasting your money. Most mobo's come with decent integrated sound, so your not losing much by not having a sound card...

UNLESS your big into audio creation, and I would then definitly recommend the Fatality or Elite pro by Creative. Otherwise, its pure overkill

halcyon

Splendid
Hi guys, what does a sound card do? Does it really enhance your gaming performance, and quality? What are the benefits of it? Etc. etc. Yes i am a newbie @_@ :roll:

Here's another notable link on sound cards. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sound_card . No worries, all of us were newbies once...heck, I'm still a Newbie. As mentioned above, a dedicated soundcard from Creative will indeed offload your CPU from audio processing which will likely give you back a few frames-per-second in video processing. Good luck to you.

MasterLee

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2006