Newbie 1st build w/ 805 D...

VENAM1

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2006
I'm new to the world of building a PC and was hoping to get some input from you pro's out there...

My plan was to build a system around the 805 D, overclock using air, get a decent motherboard for now and then buy a new Conroe chip and new motherboard next year...

I'm most fuzzy on what motherboard to go with as I want to make sure it has the best available tuning / stepping (?) for voltage and all that, especially to take that chip to 3.5+GHz...

I'm leaning to nVidia-based chipsets as I have no idea what to look for with the Intel chipsets... SLI is not a must either...

I was looking a the ASUS mobo's but they seem to maybe be too much money for now, especially if I'm gonna get a new one next year (But they do over an 8-phase board and that seemed important to me for some reason)...

I'll be doing high-end 3D work and probably gaming too...

Any help is appreciated, thanks...

PS: Here's what I'm thinking of right now:

CPU - Pentium 805 D
MOBO - ???????
VIDEO - XFX GeForce 7900GT
COOLER - Scythe SCMN-1000 / ZALMAN CNPS9500
RAM - OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR2 800 / value RAM ?
PSU - OCZ GameXStream 700W
HDD - Raptor 74GB 10k w/ Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 7200 (x2)
CASE - Antec P180

:?:

shadowduck

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2006
I'm new to the world of building a PC and was hoping to get some input from you pro's out there...

My plan was to build a system around the 805 D, overclock using air, get a decent motherboard for now and then buy a new Conroe chip and new motherboard next year...

I'm most fuzzy on what motherboard to go with as I want to make sure it has the best available tuning / stepping (?) for voltage and all that, especially to take that chip to 3.5+GHz...

I'm leaning to nVidia-based chipsets as I have no idea what to look for with the Intel chipsets... SLI is not a must either...