3D Animation Rig - From Scratch

slikhipy

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2006
I'm a 3D Animation grad student getting ready to start work on my thesis - a 3 minute animated short. I'm looking to build a new machine for the sole purpose of working on my project over the next year. I've built a few computers, but have never overclocked any of them. I need everything except a keyboard and mouse. Some questions / things to consider:

- Dual Monitors (at least 19") or a single large monitor
- Probobly don't need / care about SLI. I won't be playing any games.
- Conroe looks good, but I'm a little sketchy about it & mobos for it being so new. This machine MUST be stable. I can't waste time working out glitches & worrying about BIOS updates. I need it to work.
- I'll working in Photoshop, After Effects, Maya, and possibly Lightwave
- I need it to be the absolute best it can be, all for less than $2000

Sooooo, thoughts? Suggestions? Questions? Thanks ahead of time for all your help.

FAT_ALBERT

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2006
Well, for stability you should get OCZ Titanium series RAM. Core 2 seems pretty stable but we don't know yet.

For my 3D renders I find two moniter great, you can preview in one and make changes in the other, but a TV would be great as well

about graphics you shold get a Quadro or FireGL

mpjesse

Splendid
such a system could be built easily for under $2000. (minus video card)

good 19 inch LCD's will run right around $250-300 now. (hyndai and viewsonic have great 19 inchers). a core 2 duo E6600 will set ya back around $320... good mobo will set ya back another $150-200, and PC2 8000/8500 memory (2GB) will run ya about $400.

the most expensive piece of hardware will be a fireGL or quadro card. a good one will set ya back at least $800 if not closer to $1000.

this is what the CAD guys at work use:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814133169