The confusion of RAID

177ine177ine

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2006
Hey guys, I'm a noobie computer builder and in September I'll be building my new Conroe. I've been asking around for RAID but I actually haven't sat down and written a new topic in the Hard Drive forum for some odd reason :? . My new system will be:
Conreo E6400 cpu
7900gt gpu
asus p5w dh deluxe mobo
3 X 250gb Sata 2 WD raid edition hard drives
600 watt gamexstream ocz power supply

My motherboard says this about RAID support:

Storage Devices
PATA 2 x ATA100 up to 4 Devices
SATA 3Gb/s 6 x Internal Serial ATA 3.0Gb/s ports
1 x External Serial ATA 3.0Gb/s port
SATA RAID RAID 0/1/5/10 Matrix RAID
Additional RAID Controller Jmicron JMB363
Silicon Image 4723

My questions are simple.
1. With my 3 hard drives can I set up a RAID 5 on my system?
2. Can my computer handle this RAID 5 and would I get good performance compared to let's say the 10000rpm WD raptors?
3. Do the hard drives show up as one hard drive in the windows explorer?
4. How would I set up this RAID 5 if at all?

Sorry to bother you guys with so many questions but I'm looking for answer before my build is complete in September. That's all the questions I can think of right now. Any help is greatly appreciated.

j88per

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2006
FWIW I think too much is made of raid these days. Most people know that raid is a tool or method to 'gang' up a bunch of drives and make them appear as a single drive. They hear about the "safety" of raid such as raid 5 and how 'protected' they'll be because of it.

However true raid is expensive. Most of these motherboards today aren't implementing true hardware raid. So it becomes expensive as a performance hit as well as a hit to your wallet. Plus, if you ever do encounter a failure at the controller level you're pretty much up a creek.