Gaming Computer Advice Please, Buying Computer Soon.

pollenpaul

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
Hello everyone, I have a few things that I am set on, but don't have the links right off hand. But I have a Coolermaster case, PSU (Antec TruePower 550W) and am still bouncing back and forth about what monitor to pick, if I need widescreen or not. So I need some advice on this computer. I will basically be using this exclusively for surfing the internet and playing World of Warcraft, as well as other FPS that I pick up along the way. I also plan on sending video to my 26" HD TV with the computer too, to watch movies or videos. So Here are my questions

Should I go with the AM2 3800 or get any of the X2 processors? The thing to keep in mind really is what would be best for games now, and a little into the future (I don't plan on upgrading the processor in less than a year unless the prices I just can't pass up, but I wouldn't be opposed to OC'ing any processor I buy in the future).

As far as Video Card, I need a decent card, was looking at the 7600GT or the 7900GT. I've read a lot of people talking about DX10 cards, but I know I will not upgrade my video card, right when they come out, I would wait for some time. Basically like the CPU wouldn't really want to upgrade in less than a year.

Need advice for Ram and HD, would like 2GB of ram, most bang for the buck, and HD, don't really need a huge drive, as I'll just add another for media if I feel the need.

Last question, regarding resolution with widescreen LCD Monitors. From the video cards I look at, they don't seem to have the widescreen resolutions supported, is this a problem? I'm a big fan of widescreen because I really like that viewing style, but want what will work best.

Lastly, I would like the most bang for the buck system, one I can upgrade in the future, and the one that makes the most sense now. Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I appreciate the help.

Thanks,

Paul

muffins

Distinguished