jamesgig

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
I am building a new computer and am having technical trouble. This is my first build so I do not know much about troubleshooting. When I try to boot up, everything seems to be powered (lights come on, fans and drives spin), but nothing appears on my screen. I have checked all connections, stripped system to bare minimals, and reset CMOS. I am on my second GPU, but still nothing comes on my screen. What is wrong? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

CPU: AMD X24000+ AM2
Mobo: Asus M2N32-SLI W
GPU: Asus 7900GTX 512mb
RAM: Kingston 2x1gb ddr2 800
Sound card: X-Fi Xtrememusic
DVD: LiteOn DVD burners
HDD: Seagate 7200.10 320gb
PSU: FSP Group Epsilon 600watt
Case: Thermal Take Armor
Monitor: Viewsonic VP2030B

muffins

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
well it could be a couple things

your mobo or cpu could be a dud

id say yer best option is to bring em to where u bought em and have em test the mobo and cpu

oh and are u getting any beeps during startup cause that could mean other problems

jamesgig

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
Currently I am not getting any beeps, but when I tried to boot the first time I had 1 long and 2 short. I bought everything from Newegg, so I can't go to get them tested there. Can I take those parts into a local PC shop and have them tested? Would it be worth the cost? Thanks

vsamaco

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2006
See if you can get the beeps. It should beep if you have no ram installed. I had a similiar situation, and I ended up taking the mobo out of the case and piecing each component 1 by 1. And eventually I figured out that I have a bad stick of ram.

jamesgig

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2006
I changed the RAM slots and got it to boot. Does this mean the first two slots are dead?