What will the next big topic be?

mickeddie

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2004
I am relatively new to TG and since I've been here so much of the talk has been about Core 2 Duo. Before C2D what was the main theme of posts? What will be the main topic in 2-3 months? Quad core procs?

turpit

Splendid
Feb 12, 2006
I am relatively new to TG and since I've been here so much of the talk has been about Core 2 Duo. Before C2D what was the main theme of posts? What will be the main topic in 2-3 months? Quad core procs?

Whatever it is, there will be 2 sides, those who debate politely and intelligently, and those who dont.

Peace

exit2dos

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2006
At years end, Intel will be releasing its quadcores Clovertown/Kentsfield, AMD should be at or near 65nm production, and will probably have more 4x4 details.
AMD/ATI merger will be finalized (or shot down), can't predict what Intel/Nvidia's reactions will be. ATI & Nvidia's new chipsets will be out and maybe new dx10 card designs too.
Sony will release the PS3, so I expect alot more details/discussions of its "cell" processors.
IBM is always good for a suprising innovation from its top-of-the-line R&D.
Probably will have more info on the new PCI-e spec, along with more Windows Vista/Longhorn Server information.
If the AMD/ATI merger goes through, I see some sort of alliance with Creative Labs, as Intel is now offering pretty decent sound on their new IGPs - Integrated sound will become increasingly important for HTPCs as well as Gaming Desktops. Speaking of which, More info will be in soon on Intel's mobile cpu, will be looking for AMDs answer to it soon.

StevieD

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2004
At years end, Intel will be releasing its quadcores Clovertown/Kentsfield, AMD should be at or near 65nm production, and will probably have more 4x4 details.