Removed heatsink, replace thermal paste?

emissary

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2006
Hi
I'm a newbie right now. I'm assembling a system and when I was seating the heatsink for the Pentium D 805, it didn't really go in right. So I removed it and put it in again. Then I realized, did that just ruin the thermal stuff on the bottom? I have never turned it on. I simply put in the heatsink, removed it, and put it back. Will I now have to remove the stock thermal stuff and replace it? And if so, how do I remove it?

Thanks. Sorry if it's a dumb question.

Mondoman

Splendid
As long as the thermal pad stayed on the hsf and part did not transfer to the CPU (and the pad didn't get gouged or torn; squished is OK), you're probably OK. Normally, according to Intel, you would have to remove the old material and apply new material. Since Arctic Silver 5 works better anyway, you might want to try that. A small syringe cost about $6 at my local CompUSA. To remove the old pad material, first scrape off as much as possible with a non-scratching substance, like the edge of a 3x5 index card. Then, use "anhydrous" isopropyl alcohol from your drugstore and lint-free cloth or wipes to remove the last traces.

Assman

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2005
As long as the thermal pad stayed on the hsf and part did not transfer to the CPU (and the pad didn't get gouged or torn; squished is OK), you're probably OK. Normally, according to Intel, you would have to remove the old material and apply new material. Since Arctic Silver 5 works better anyway, you might want to try that. A small syringe cost about $6 at my local CompUSA. To remove the old pad material, first scrape off as much as possible with a non-scratching substance, like the edge of a 3x5 index card. Then, use "anhydrous" isopropyl alcohol from your drugstore and lint-free cloth or wipes to remove the last traces.

When did he mentioned thermal pad, he said thermal paste :?: :!:

Mondoman

Splendid