d805 and Conroe OC mobo

arcanine

Distinguished
May 28, 2005
Hi all,
I am intending to build a new rig and I would like to buy a d805 now and then buy a conroe chip later when it becomes cheaper.

I m thinking :

motherboard : asus P5B deluxe
http://au.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=0&model=1179&modelmenu=1
I am guessing it would be a nice mobo to Overclock both the d805 and conroe stably (can this board handle the conroe extreme?) .

ram : 1 gig OCZ ddr2 675 5400 or 1 gig corsair ddr2 667 5300 ?
In the mobo website, it says Dual-channel DDR2 800/667/533...
why dont I see a 675 there? that means i cant use the OCZ ddr2 675?..

I am pretty new to overclocking so it would be nice if anyone can give opinions and hardware opinions on which I should buy. btw I am also using water cooling (thermaltake tribe, affordable :D) and would hope to overclock both chips stably.
thank yous in advance

illinikevin

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2006
That board will support DDR2 675 but I've herd of lots of people having problems using OCZ on Asus boards. If you going to OC the 805 you will need an aftermarket cooler just don't spend too much because it ruins the value of the processor. If it takes $250 worth of cooling to overclock your $100 CPU you should just get a $300 CPU. A good heat sink and fan can be had for under $50 and that should take you around 3.5GHz on that chip.

_Morphine_

Distinguished
May 22, 2006
you will need an aftermarket cooler just don't spend too much because it ruins the value of the processor. If it takes $250 worth of cooling to overclock your $100 CPU you should just get a $300 CPU
I dont think spending $250 on cooling is too much. Its not like a cooling device is used for only one CPU. You will have that cooling device for many CPUs if its a quality product. The cost of the cooling cant be lumped with the price of the CPU.

and would hope to overclock both chips stably