Anybody know about Coolermaster PSU?

klezmer41

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2006
I got a Coolermaster 600w Extreme Power as a temporary replacement for my Seasonic which is toast. There are issues with Seasonic and the DFI Ultra-D Lanparty which is the mobo I have. The system worked for months so I don't think the issues are present anymore, just a toasted PSU. Any recommendations on other power supply or should I get a new Seasonic?

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006
Take a look at this article written about highend PSUs that were tested (along with the results). It should help you.

http://www.bytesizedreviews.com/?rev_id=302

There are many good PSUs in the highend category that would serve you well but do the reasearch. I am quite surprised at the trouble you are having wiht the Seasonic as it is one of the most highly rated PSU companies around. Silverstone, FSP, Enermax, PC P&C, Tagan, Seasonic, Antec and OCZ are among the most highly regarded. I would include Mushkin but, the fact that their highend PSU doesn't have PFC is enough for me to be nervous about entrusting my expensive equiptment to it.

klezmer41

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2006
The Seasonic I have is the S12 600w, and it ran perfectly for about 6 months. Lots of people have had a lot of success with them so maybe I just got unlucky. Depending on how customer service goes with them I might stick with Seasonic or ditch them entirely. I need this computer up and running now which is why I had to get the Coolermaster.

ZOldDude

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2006
I got a Coolermaster 600w Extreme Power as a temporary replacement for my Seasonic which is toast. There are issues with Seasonic and the DFI Ultra-D Lanparty which is the mobo I have. The system worked for months so I don't think the issues are present anymore, just a toasted PSU. Any recommendations on other power supply or should I get a new Seasonic?

You don't list all the specs for your system.

Check the PSU list on the DFI forum.