Sign in with
Your question

Looking for advice on a new value gaming system

Last response: in Systems
August 6, 2006 3:44:27 PM

This is my first time posting here, so forgive me if I make any noob mistakes. I want a new computer solely for the purpose of running World of Warcraft at max or near max settings. Of course I would be running things like Firefox, Winamp, and Ventrilo as well and would like to make sure that they don't hurt the performance of WoW. I really don't plan on playing any other games soon as I'm hopelessly addicted to WoW and it seems there will be plenty of new content.

Anyway a little background. I really don't have any faith in my ability to buy all the parts and put it together (which doesn't seem too hard), but have the computer work (I don't know a lot about computers, but like to think I'm not clueless). My current computer plays WoW like a glorified slideshow and I just can't put up with it anymore. Since my current comp will barely sell for anything on ebay, I'm just going to keep it and use the monitor, speakers, optical drives in the new comp. I have the windows xp cd from my current computer (4 year old compaq) and my friend told me that would work just fine in new one.

Here it is (built off the amd desktop > mega special pc > (socket am2)Back-To-School Super Value at http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/):
CASE: X-BLADE Mid-Tower 450W W/ WINDOW & LCD Temperature Display + FANCONTROL (BLACK COLOR)
CPU: (Socket AM2) AMD Athlon™64 X2 3800+ Dual-Core CPU w/HyperTransport Technology
MOTHERBOARD: (Socket AM2)MSI K9N Neo-F nForce 550 Chipset DDR2/800 SATA-II RAID 16x PCI-Express MBoard w/GbLAN, USB2.0, &7.1Audio
MEMORY: (Req.DDR2 MainBoard)2GB (2x1GB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Corsair XMS2 Xtreme Memory w/ Heat Spreader)
VIDEO CARD: NEW !!! NVIDIA Geforce 7600 GT 256MB PCI Express x16 Video Card
VIDEO CARD 2: NONE
LCD Monitor: NONE
HARD DRIVE: SPECIAL!!! 160GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 8M Cache 7200RPM Hard Drive
Hard Drive 2: NONE